The basilica was discovered by monks of the Monastery of Pithario, in the years 1884 and 1885. An inscription on the frame of the west part of the mosaic floor in the middle aisle, mentions bishop John, who is identified as the representative of the Lesbians in the Third Ecumenic Synod of Ephesos, in 431 A.D. This inscription dates the basilica to the first half of the 5th century.
The monument was excavated in 1928 by A. Orlandos and the site was later remodelled by S. Charitonides, in 1962. The area was cleared and the mosaics were restored in 1988. In 1989 the mosaics were covered in order to be protected.
The monument is open to the public.