VENETIAN PHILOKALOS NAVIGAJOSO
The fortress took its present form in 1207, when the Venetian Philokalos Navigajoso, the Great Duke of Lemnos, fortified Myrina. The castle was reinforced by his successor, Leonardo Navigajoso, who managed to keep it under his control for 45 years. During the Turkish occupation the area within the castle was inhabited by the Turks. The walls were severely damaged in 1770, during the siege of Myrina by the Russian fleet.
In 1990-91, the cracks in the masonry on the south and east sides were repaired by yhe 14th Ephorate.
The monument is open to the public.